Nov 18: Car-petting

It’s very nearly winter, which has meant since the age of 22, Battle!

The field of battle; Any window in/out of my car. The enemy; Condensation. Additional enemy; Iced up condensation.

I’ve never had a car that could de-mist/deal with condensation and moisture in any kind of efficient manner. I’ve actually had a couple with no working  heating which were surprisingly, much better in the icy cold weather, but I digress… Here is an adequate example of my twice daily battlefield;

IMAG0563

On the left; Another car with it’s headlights on. On the right, a standard sodium Street Light.

 Yep – can’t see an ‘effin thing! I have a complex system of soaking cloths, wiping cloths, heating regimens and using my sixcth senses to drive without the power of sight… It makes for daily funtimes, and as you are probably aware, I’m not averse to challenge or two… However, I’ve kinda had enough of this particular challenge.

I’ve also been doing that thing that happens sometimes. I’ve been talking a good game about doing something, then utterly and completely not doing it – balls! In this case it’s sorting out a new veeeeehicle…

 My Golf has been fantastic. Me n’ Valkor “The Chariot of the Gods” have done over 110,000 miles together. Valkor has given excellent service, outstanding even, not least of which was waltzing through this years MOT with barely a headlight adjustment needed. Granted, we have had a few scrapes, my favourite being Valkor deciding to have a cheeky jaunt down a hill in Winchester…without me…and depositing itself in the front garden of the VP Lab Director of IBM UKs Hursley Labs neighbour, through that unfortunate persons brick gate…. Through it, then over it.

 Legend!

 Few bumps and scrapes and a shit-tonne of memories. I would love to use sentimentality  as a reason for procrastination, but that’s not it. Truth is, I’ve been hankering for a decent car for a while. The plan was to get one a while ago but finances and various other aspects pushed me to hold off…. I think the holding off is over… I need a new car, and I would like it to be a little bit spanky thanks very much.

 So the research begins. Actually, I’ve already done some research, but not enough! I’m going to start in “Fantasy Land” and work my way back to something that fits in the finances, and tickles the taste-testicles – Boom!

 I’ll leave you with that imagery.

One thought on “Nov 18: Car-petting

  1. reminds me of my trusty Lanny. In the winter a thick sheet of ice would form across the inside of the windscreen. Manly.

    No heater of course – that was only for top of the range models.

    Like

Leave a comment